Friday, July 25, 2014
Virginia Increases Workers Compensation Penalty for Uninsured Employers
On July 1, 2014 Virginia increased the maximum penalty for employers in Virginia who did not have
workers compensation to $50,000.00. Prior to this increase, the maximum penalty was only $5,000.00. With such a low penalty, some employers may have thought it was worth the risk not to obtain insurance. That way if you were caught you only had to pay at most $5,000.00. With this increase, perhaps more employers will not risk going "naked" in Virginia without workers compensation insurance. Thus it is hoped workers will have more security in Virginia.
FOR MORE INFORMATION: contact Jerry Lutkenhaus at (804) 358-4766 or check our website at
Virginia Workers' Compensation Lawyer .